skip to content

Department of Archaeology


Congratulations to Mark Knight, Rachel Ballantyne, Iona Robinson Zeki and David Gibson who have won the 2020 Antiquity Prize for their article "The Must Farm pile-dwelling settlement".

Lead author and Must Farm site director Mark Knight said, "We are absolutely thrilled to be awarded the Antiquity Prize, most of all because the prize was created to recognise good archaeological writing."

"To receive such an accolade whilst undertaking the mammoth task of full analysis and writing-up of the Must Farm Pile-dwelling settlement is both timely and much appreciated." 

The Antiquity prize is awarded annually for outstanding work in the field of archaeology. Recent winners have included Shadreck Chirikure, Alan Farahani and Sarah Parcak et al.

The Antiquity Prize was created in 1994 by Editor Christopher Chippindale and the Antiquity Editorial Board in recognition of the fact that research funding was becoming increasingly competitive, the time to write difficult to find, and really good writing is 'as rare and precious as ever'. They created the prize to honour and support the author(s) of the best contribution to each volume of Antiquity.

Image information

Excavations at Must Farm
Image credit: 
D. Webb