skip to content

Department of Archaeology

 

The Ancient Near East Seminar Series is the weekly term-time event for those interested in the Ancient Near East.

With visiting speakers coming from universities, museums and other institutions from around the world, it is hoped that these evenings will  offer a focus for the wide range of Assyriological and Ancient Near Eastern archaeological projects across the University, build links with other research centres, and offer a chance for all to see the incredible work that is being carried out in this vast and hugely important field of research.

Evening lectures take place on Tuesday evenings at 5.30pm, and will be followed by a short reception for our guest speakers and those in attendance.

 

Future events will be announced here.

 

Contact name: 
Kyra Kaercher
Contact email: 

Events In This Series For This Academic Year

Session Name Date Event speaker
Knowledge in Gilgameš Tuesday, 22 October, 2019 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Tom Nelson
Uncovering a Community: Life and Death at Late Neolithic Tell Sabi Abyad, Syria Tuesday, 5 November, 2019 - 17:30 to 18:30 Hannah Plug
Ugarit at 90 Tuesday, 19 November, 2019 - 17:30 to 18:30 Pavel Čech
Back to School: Passion, Perspective, and Partnership Tuesday, 3 December, 2019 - 17:30 to 18:30 Mark Chetwood
The Secret History of the Babylon Catalogue Tuesday, 21 January, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Christopher Walker
New Perspectives on the Early Iron Age in the Caucasus Tuesday, 4 February, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Nathaniel Erb-Satullo
Family Firms and Their Efforts for Conducting Trade in Babylonian Sippar During Persian Rule Wednesday, 19 February, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Melanie Gross
A New Approach to the Origins and Development of Writing in the Near East. Tuesday, 10 March, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Mariam Shakhmuradyan
CANCELLED Donkey Seat and Side Saddle: Riding in Ancient Mesopotamia Tuesday, 21 April, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Laerke Recht
CANCELLED Sumerian Mock Hymns: Scholarly Parodies or Apotropaic Charms? Tuesday, 28 April, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Jana Matuszak
CANCELLED Beyond the Silver Mountains: Interactions Between Anatolia and Mesopotamia During the Akkadian Period Wednesday, 6 May, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Derya Yilmaz
CANCELLED Hear the Master's Speech Between the Lines: Some Examples of Explanatory and Descriptive Levels in Mesopotamian Scientific Texts Tuesday, 12 May, 2020 - 17:30 to 18:30 Dr. Gilles Buisson
Cambridge on the Euphrates? Unveiling a not 100% Sumerian City Tuesday, 13 October, 2020 - 17:00 to 18:00 Prof Nicholas Postgate
The Social Context of Writing Practices in Late Bronze Age Ugarit Tuesday, 27 October, 2020 - 17:00 to 18:00 Dr. Phillip Boyes
TBA Tuesday, 10 November, 2020 - 17:00 to 18:00 Dr. Caleb Howard
Sin's Three Hypostases: The Mystery Revealed? Tuesday, 24 November, 2020 - 17:00 to 18:00 Dr. Prudence Jones